Derrick Thomas heads 2014 College Hall of Fame class

Former Georgia Tech QB Joe Hamilton is among 14 former players and two coaches who were selected to the College Football Hall of Fame on Thursday, joining former Alabama LB Derrick Thomas and WR Sterling Sharpe, who grew up in Glennville, just west of Savannah.

Folks were wondering when Thomas, who still holds the single-season sack record for college football with 27, was going to be elected. He had already been elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame (2009) after a pro career shortened by a car accident that led to his death on Feb. 8, 2000. Thomas still holds Alabama’s career sacks record with 52.

Here is the complete list:

  • Dre Bly, DB, North Carolina (1996-98)
  • Tony Boselli, Southern California (1991-94)
  • Dave Butz, DT, Purdue (1970-72)
  • Shane Conlan, LB, Penn State (1983-86)
  • Joe Hamilton, QB, Georgia Tech (1996-99)
  • John Huard, LB, Maine (1964-66)
  • Darrin Nelson, HB, Stanford (1977-78, 1980-81)
  • Willie Roaf, OL, Louisiana Tech (1990-92)
  • John Sciarra, QB, UCLA (1972-75)
  • Sterling Sharpe, WR, South Carolina (1983, 1985-87)
  • Leonard Smith, CB, McNeese State (1979-82)
  • Derrick Thomas, LB, Alabama (1985-88)
  • LaDainian Tomlinson, RB, Texas Christian (1997-00)
  • Wesley Walls, TE, Mississippi (1985-88)


  • Mike Bellotti, 137-80-2 at Chico State (Calif.) (1984-88) and Oregon (1995-08)
  • Jerry Moore, 242-135-2 at North Texas (1979-80), Texas Tech (1981-85) and Appalachian State (1989-12)

Sharpe, Roaf, Boselli, Conlan, Nelson, Thomas and Butz were first-round NFL picks.

View Comments 0